famous last words

“They couldn’t hit an elephant at this dist…” (Killed in battle during US Civil War.) ~~ General John Sedgwick, Union Commander, d. 1864

“Don’t let it end like this. Tell them I said something.” ~~ Pancho Villa, Mexican revolutionary, d. 1923

“Either that wallpaper goes, or I do.” ~~ Oscar Wilde, writer, d. November 30, 1900

Elvis heads for the bathroom carrying the book, Frank Adams’ The Scientific Search for the Face of Jesus. While on his way, Ginger calls out “Don’t fall asleep in there.” “Okay, I won’t,” are Elvis’ last words.

and now for a few i think should make the list but i do not know anyone who has died from uttering these yet…

‘Don’t try this at home’, my ass.

“hold my beer.”

Don’t worry, I read somewhere that bears mostly eat roots and berries.

I’ll get a world record for this.

Uh oh…

a man hasn’t been feeling well, so he goes to his doctor for a complete checkup. Afterward, the doctor comes out with the results.
“I’m afraid I have some very bad news,” the doctor says. “You’re dying, and you don’t have much time left.”
“Oh, that’s terrible !” says the man. “How long have I got ?”
“Ten,” the doctor says sadly.
“Ten ?” the man asks. “Ten what ? Months ? Weeks ? What ?!”
“Nine…”

About this entry