in 1988 onyx was formed in new york city, onyx then consisted of; fredo starr, big ds, and sonsee.    they then released their first 12″ “Ah, and We Do it Like This”, in 1990.  in 1991 the group added sticky fingaz. after that they released throw ya gunz in 1992.  they then signed with def jam. in 1993 onyx released bacdafucup which won them soul train’s album of the year. and slam went to #5 on the hip hop charts.  big ds then left the group stating that he did not get enough lines in the songs. then in 1995 onyx relased all we got iz us.  they got much less airplay because of their not so radio friendly lyrics. their head single “last dayz”  hit #89 on billboards  hot 100.1998 was the year onyx released their next album entitled “shut ’em down”    this album featured; method man, big pun, dmx, the lost boys, raekwon, noreaga, and 50 cent.  the group left def jam after this album and members pursued solo careers.  in 2002 they signed to koch reords and released two albums on this label. bacdafucup II, and in 2003 triggernometry.  these albums are terrible.  so terrible at numerous live shows onyx told fans not to buy them.

About this entry